Why grammar is so important…

Yes.

Grammar.

As in “the system of rules implicit in a language, viewed as a mechanism for generating all sentences possible in that language”.

tumblr_mad6ccPgfV1r8n2tyo1_500

There is so much wrong with this.

I can just feel the judgement seething off your bodies and floating towards me like a swarm of killer bees. Literally. NO NOT LITERALLY! BECAUSE THEN I WOULD DIE. Probably. Depends if they’d make it all the way here and find where I live. It’s not like they can read Google maps. Or maybe they can. You never know. They were pretty smart in Bee Movie. See, look: this one even has glasses!

bee_movie_adam_wallpaper-normal

Let me guess, you’re thinking that I am a nerd with glasses who watches Star Trek and reads books about grammar FOR FUN! Yes, I do wear glasses. Sometimes. And they’re prescription too!

tumblr_mn4aoigM8y1rl07gno1_400

Yes I like Star Trek. My brother even bought me Seasons 1 and 2 of Voyager so now I can even say I own it and everything! And I like it hipster style (as in before it was cool) and not just because it became a big blockbuster with Chris Pine and all the ladies in the world collectively swooned. I might even be able to say literally here.

swoon

My grammar  is by no means perfect. I have ended many a sentence with a preposition. I have started many a sentence with a ‘but’ or an ‘and’. See, I even made a grammatical error JUST THEN! This kind of thing is acceptable to me. Bestselling authors do it. Though really, that’s not saying much because Twilight and 50 Shades of Grey were bestsellers and if anyone has read them (you know who you are) then you will know that those novels sure as shit aren’t great examples of literature. Pretty much any idiot can get published nowadays.

Anyway, back to the subject at hand. Grammar. It seriously bugs me when people use bad grammar.

YOUR_theWAREHOUSE

It’s not even that hard. I may have studied it at University but it’s not like I didn’t know how to use it properly beforehand. I did go to school and not even a Private School. A Public/State School. Yet I can tell the difference between your and you’re. How is it that nobody else seems to understand? It’s not like I’ve ever considered myself to be superior in the intelligence department…but perhaps I am and I just never knew it until now. GO ME!

theoatmeal

demotivational-posters-context-punctuation

daily_picdump_550_640_09

I must admit, I have become one of those people that corrects others. I am what is now known as a Grammar Nazi.

180px-Grammar-Nazi-1613

Not an actual Nazi. That would be bad. People may find me irritating for correcting their grammar but it’s not like I’m systematically eradicating their entire family.

Unfortunately a lot of people don’t see it that way. They see it this way:

grammar-nazi-gets-what-he-deserves-14866

images

-1

-1

Really? Seriously?

what-is-your-problem

It’s not just grammar either. It’s just plain stupidity. It’s not as if idiocy has increased. There have always been dumb people. It’s just that we didn’t have the Internet before and so I never had to witness it.

mad-at-theinternet

mad

computer-mad

Not only can people not use grammar properly but they can’t spell either. And they don’t even know that the film Titanic was based on actual events (with a lot of poetic license).

people-that-did-not-know-titanic-was-real

See how I used Star Trek there too? Yeah that was intentional.

16-reasons-why-grammar-and-spelling-is-important1

Yes, because that would be illegal in many places.

So there you go. Use grammar properly or I will track you down and insult your intelligence. Or lack of it. And then I will judge you.

images

15280283.jpg.505x650_q85

tumblr_mh06ruvlvh1qd3no2o1_r2_500

Leave a Reply

