Strictly Sydney…

Guess what I did this morning, lovely people?

tumblr_mm5w9l6NZd1r5xzspo1_500

Alright! Jeez

tumblr_meso0rDgp81qihztbo1_500

tumblr_mcmqnuSfnb1ranhnao1_250

tumblr_mj5nxxKONB1rfduvxo1_250

I was part of Strictly Sydney. Yup. I know, you totally understand exactly what I’m talking about.

tumblr_lyvpboN73e1rn95k2o1_250

yup

Strictly Sydney was Baz Luhrmann trying to get some media attention for the new musical adaptation of his film Strictly Ballroom. He gathered professional ballroom dancers and the rest of us average Joe shlubs together at the Sydney Opera House for a flash dance. Baz Luhrmann himself directed it atop his crane whilst we worked up a sweat in the hot Sunday morning sun.

1796609_10152300610033417_2115121096_n

Look at Baz, wearing a hipster hat and acting all proud of himself

Now I was banished to a zone so far back in the corner, it’s a wonder we weren’t falling into the water. There were no cameras trained on us and the only opportunity we had to pull out our running man moves were when the helicopter flew past and got some long shots.

tumblr_m7b703RBIY1rzzha8o1_500

12810113

39014773

I couldn’t help but feel disappointed that for all our efforts, we had no proof to say we were there (except our dance number bibs).

tumblr_lqwu1azk3S1qdfu1wo1_500

I feel like, with my level of talent, everyone should be given the opportunity to see what I can do.

giphy

Despite being doped to the gills on antibiotics for the latest of my neverending sicknesses, I pulled energy out of my ass and gave that flash dance all I had (and more, considering how crappy and creaky I feel right now).

tumblr_mofyagduvd1qakh43o1_250

After a beer, I went straight home to shower off all the suncreen so I could feel less disgusting

tumblr_mg7t25AMVr1rksmlro1_400

And then I had to nap.

tumblr_m1ppn7JWQd1rpxmvpo1_250

Yup. I’m like an old lady. But this is my first day off since last Sunday, when I was throwing up all my insides.

tumblr_my6lcnt1nM1qd5mq1o1_400

Give me a break!

tumblr_mjewpi87vO1res9kfo1_400

Now I have to finish my book before I can go to sleep and it’s almost 8pm so I’d better get moving.

tumblr_mhk3tyXIkY1rvaggno1_500

tumblr_mrfscnrhYD1rmpt0vo1_500

Leave a Reply

