Jane Austen and Me: The Life Edition

I have a Uni podcast playing and it’s boring me. I thought I would continue to let it run in the background while I did something that made me less likely to punch myself in the face.

Edward-Norton-Self-Punch-Reach-Gif-In-Fight-Club

So I will probably learn no more than I already know (which is nothing) about the Semantic Library…but you lovely people will get another blog post. Because clearly I love you all more than I love my education.

tumblr_m9a4jvJs3L1qmom57o1_500

Not a hard thing to achieve. Sorry.

tumblr_m0c02yTbkH1qjm8vfo1_400

I’ll talk instead about Jane Austen. Unless a guy wants tips on how to get laid by knowing shit about Jane Austen, all men should probably not continue to read.

tumblr_lifey3vevH1qa75d1o1_500

Unless they love J.A. In which case, high fives all round!

tumblr_ml91unNZLv1r4xh8wo1_400

I have a theory that it is ingrained into a woman’s subconscious to love stories of romance and happy endings.

tumblr_mky85tsTbv1s9d0p2o1_500

Not those happy endings. Jeez, perv.

tumblr_mrxyxvOegu1svx8ego1_500

Although I enjoy a good trashy romance novel just as much as the next person.

tumblr_lvmtnjukT51qghckoo1_500

Yeah this was the most sexually explicit gif I was gonna post about that

Anyway, Jane Austen.

I used to be a member –  don’t judge – of the Jane Austen Society of Australia – don’t judge – and I would attend seminars and lectures and meet lots of old ladies who shared my love of wet men in white shirts.

tumblr_ml5eqnRiEq1qe5drto4_250

tumblr_ml5eqnRiEq1qe5drto1_250

tumblr_ml5eqnRiEq1qe5drto2_250

Anyway, I was a member for a year and then I started uni and other things got in the way. Things like the Austen society at my University. I spent more than $100 on my first day of orientation week during freshman year of Uni on joining clubs,  thinking I’d do so many amazing things.

tumblr_mf8d1tFhUJ1qmxhobo1_500

tumblr_mf8d1tFhUJ1qmxhobo2_r1_500

I ended up never attending a single society – except the Austen events. Tea parties and whatnot. Needless to say I did not make many friends that way. In fact, everyone was damn boring and not a single person added alcohol to their tea. So civilized. I didn’t really fit in that well.

tumblr_ml0lzmf4fh1s5lf2ro1_500

So I started attending engineering parties. If you’ve ever gone to Uni, you’ll know what the engineering department is renowned for…

tumblr_mdrk01YPti1rpn6xxo1_500

tumblr_lxt9vnp2EU1qgh3a7o1_500

anigif_enhanced-29901-1393418147-2

anigif_enhanced-12026-1393420817-10

drunk

Especially that last one.

So despite not having much luck with Austen at University, my love for her and her works still grew over time. Now I pretty much keep that love to myself and fan its flames by rereading her books and re-watching the adaptations on occasion (on occasion being every week).

tumblr_lnfq2kZ6TG1qkmpj8o1_500

I own at least two different adaptations of each book in DVD format and have 6 copies of each original text. The former is due to me, the latter is not. Whenever family doesn’t know what to buy me to a present, they get me a different edition of her works. It’s a fail-safe. Obviously I’m not that competent at disguising my Janeite tendencies…

giphy

So now we come to the present. hahaha. Get what I did there?

tumblr_mocl08HZ431qgiq62o1_500

Yup. So the reason I’m making my ballgown (as I wrote about in yesterday’s post) is for the Jane Austen Festival of Australia.

tumblr_mxqaq79J9q1t6xekto1_250

tumblr_m0hoyeFZUK1ro9qzco1_500

tumblr_m41sp5nHas1rui512o1_500

Sorry, got a little carried away with that last one…

Mmhmmm, that’s a thing. And I’m attending that thing. Not only that but I am paying hundreds of dollars to be attending that thing. I will be doing regency dance classes from 9am to 5pm and then going to nap before intending to get absolutely shit faced that evening at the ball.

tumblr_lus9mbhUYW1r5dap8o1_500

I know that I will have the opportunity to make a total twat of myself without guilt or fear because I can basically guarantee that there will be no eligible men to try an impress. Just old women and poor, blackmailed husbands and boyfriends.

tumblr_mhmo22PKVr1s53swbo1_400

tumblr_mmibesyBpK1ry2jcoo1_500

Why am I even going, do you ask? Well, because despite knowing that I will never really find a Darcy, Tilney, Knightley or Wentworth, I can’t help but continue to stubbornly believe that Austen knew something that I didn’t: that men like hers really exist somewhere in the world. So I read and reread and dream that true love is more than just a concept that sells movie and theatre tickets to gullible female customers.

tumblr_ma2ozgDTjM1rf2jmdo1_400

hahahahaha these women are so stupid! I can’t believe they thought Titanic in 3D would be any different. Fools!

I know I am not alone in this disease. It is a genetic sickness that almost all women suffer from. They’re lying if they say they don’t feel the same way. Just like they’re lying when they say they wouldn’t turn lesbian if they had the right offer.

tumblr_mva2zmOTFC1qkq4j4o1_500

You know it’s true ladies.

Fair-Enough-Agreement-In-Lord-Of-The-Rings-Reaction-Gif

So there you have it men, the secret to women’s hearts is Jane Austen. Just put on a wet white shirt and you’ll have her at your mercy. Or you could go to a Jane Austen festival yourself. Just think about it: you would be one of a small handful of emotionally entangled men. Women would be THROWING themselves at you to dance.

giphy-1

giphy

You could be a total asshole and they’d just imagine you were Darcy and stick their tongues down your throat.

yesss

fckya

I know, I give the best advice. You’re welcome.

tumblr_m7xn9mB4go1qkt131o7_r1_500

This was totally not how I had intended this post to turn out but hey, I guess that’s life.

thats-cool-baby

Leave a Reply

